Celebration of the International Day of Cooperatives with the theme

COOPS 4 DECENT WORK

In 1992, the United Nations General Assembly proclaimed in resolution 47/90 the first Saturday of July of each year to be International Day of Cooperatives. On Saturday July 6th 2019 MEO celebrated the International Day of Cooperatives with a seminar.

This year's theme "Coops 4 Decent Work" was chosen by the United Nations and the International Cooperative Alliance taking into consideration widening inequalities, increasing job insecurities and high unemployment level, particularly among the youth. The 2019 #Coopsday theme is linked to the Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 8, "Inclusive development and decent work".

As people-centered enterprises and key development actors, cooperatives have an important role to play in the creation and maintenance of decent jobs in each community. Thus empowering people on both the social and the economic front.

ON Saturday July 6th the Minister for Economic Development Kenneth Gijsbertha opened the seminar which included three local and one international speaker. The three local speakers were Mrs. Peggy Isenia, President of FEKOSKAN, who spoke about "The importance of cooperatives for decent work ", Mr. Raúl Henriquez, Director of the Social Economic Council (SER) who spoke about "Labor developments in the world / Future of Work" and Mr. Edward St. Jacobs, President of the Curacao Union Central (S.S.K.), spoke about "the union view and that of the International Labor Organization (ILO) regarding decent work".

As (international) keynote speaker, Mr. Andrés Alvarez Ovares, Project Director of the Center for Cooperative Studies and Training (CENECOOP), elaborated on "How cooperatives can prepare themselves to benefit from Future Work and also achieve decent work".

At the end of the seminar, a panel discussion was held where both the speakers and the public exchanged ideas that where brought forth during the presentations of the four speakers.

On the photo from left to right

Kenneth Valpoort (Union), Minister Hensley Koeiman (Labor), Andrés Alvarez Ovares, Minister Kenneth Gijsbertha, Peggy Isenia, Raúl Henriquez.

Photos and video will be available for viewing on the MEO Facebook page.